2023 Accessible Voting Equipment Subgrant Reimbursement Program

SUMMARY. On March 3, 2023, the Wisconsin Elections Commission (WEC) approved the allocation of funds for an accessible voting equipment subgrant program.

BACKGROUND. Under the Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2023 (Public Law 117-328), the WEC was awarded additional federal funds to “improve the administration of elections for Federal office, including to enhance election technology and make election security improvements.” The WEC will disburse up to $350,000 of these federal funds through the approved 2023 Accessible Voting Equipment Subgrant Program for Municipalities. Each jurisdiction may receive up to $750.00 under this subgrant, until allocated funds are depleted.

AUTHORIZED USES. Subject to grant conditions, jurisdictions may request reimbursement for the purchase of approved accessible voting equipment or associated accessories. Approved equipment includes the following devices:

  • Clear Ballot ClearAccess 2.0.1
  • Dominion Voting - ImageCast Evolution (ICE)
  • Dominion Voting - ImageCast X (ICX) BMD
  • Dominion Voting - ImageCast X (ICX) VVPAT
  • ES&S ExpressVote
  • ES&S ExpressVote Tabulator

Purchases must improve the jurisdiction’s compliance with HAVA accessible voting requirements.  Jurisdictions are encouraged to consult with WEC staff in advance to confirm a purchase is eligible for the subgrant.   

HOW DO JURISDICTIONS APPLY? An authorized representative of each jurisdiction must complete and return a 2023 Accessible Voting Equipment Subgrant Memorandum of Understanding (MOU), and copies of receipts or invoices showing the purchase of approved equipment, to the WEC at @email. Municipalities may receive reimbursement for the actual amount spent, or $750.00, whichever is less.  Subgrant requests will be processed in the order received until funds are exhausted or June 30, 2024, whichever occurs first.  This subgrant is available to municipalities, or to counties purchasing equipment on behalf of a municipality, but only one award will be granted per municipality. 

QUESTIONS? Email @email or call the Help Desk at (608) 261-2028.