Wisconsin Elections

Wisconsin’s elections are highly decentralized, with elections conducted at the local level by over 1,900 local election officials in 72 counties and 1,851 municipalities. Municipal clerks in Wisconsin's towns, villages, and cities and the Board of Election Commissioners in the City of Milwaukee, are responsible for establishing polling places, acquiring voting equipment, recruiting and training poll workers, maintaining voter lists, administering absentee voting, and supervising the conduct of elections on Election Day. 

Elections are administered at the state level by the Wisconsin Elections Commission (WEC).  The WEC is responsible for the administrative oversight of federal and state election laws including establishing uniform standards and training local election officials.