G.A.B. Announces New Officers for 2015


MADISON, WI – Judge Gerald C. Nichol of Madison became chairperson of the Government Accountability Board for 2015 on Tuesday, replacing Judge Thomas H. Barland of Eau Claire.

Under state law, the Board’s leadership is chosen by lot at its first regular meeting in January each year.

Judge Elsa Lamelas of Shorewood was chosen as vice-chairperson for 2015, and Judge Barland was chosen as secretary of the Board. 

The G.A.B. is comprised of six non-partisan, former Wisconsin judges who are appointed by the Governor based on nominations from a committee of current Court of Appeals judges.

Judge Nichol is an original member of the Board, first appointed in 2007 by Gov. Jim Doyle and reappointed in 2013 by Gov. Scott Walker.  He was in private practice from 1963 to 1988, except for 1970 to 1972, when he was elected Dane County District Attorney as a Republican. During his private practice, he served as a Special Counsel to both the Office of Lawyer Regulation and the State Ethics Board.  Judge Nichol served as a Town of Madison Municipal Court Judge from 1974 to 1987 before being elected a nonpartisan Dane County Circuit Court Judge in 1988.  He was reelected in 1994 and 2000, and served until 2004.

Additional biographical information about Judge Nichol and other Board members is available on the agency’s website: http://gab.wi.gov/about/members.

The Board has scheduled six additional regular meetings in 2015. Its next regular meeting will be on Wednesday and Thursday, March 4 and 5. Additional meetings have been scheduled for April 14, June 24, September 1, October 20, and December 15.  A complete schedule of meetings is available here: http://gab.wi.gov/about/meetings


Attachment Size
NR GAB New Officers 01-14-15.pdf 22.08 KB

For more information, contact

Reid Magney, public information officer, 608-267-7887, reid.magney@wi.gov