G.A.B. Announces New Officers for 2014


MADISON, WI – Judge Thomas H. Barland of Eau Claire became chairperson of the Government Accountability Board for 2014 on Tuesday, replacing Judge Timothy L. Vocke of Rhinelander.

Under state law, the Board’s leadership is chosen by lot at its first regular meeting in January each year.

Judge Harold V. Froehlich of Appleton was chosen as vice-chairperson for 2014, and Judge Michael Brennan of Marshfield was chosen as secretary of the Board. 

The G.A.B. is comprised of six non-partisan, former Wisconsin judges who are appointed by the Governor based on nominations from a committee of current Court of Appeals judges.

Judge Barland has been a member of the Board since 2009, and served as its chairperson in 2011. He began his long career in public service as a Republican State Representative in the early 1960s before serving as a nonpartisan county and circuit court judge in Eau Claire County from 1967 until his retirement in 2000.  He was appointed to the Board by former Governor Jim Doyle and confirmed by the State Senate.  Additional biographical information about Judge Barland and other Board members is available on the agency’s website: http://gab.wi.gov/about/members.

The Board has scheduled seven additional regular meetings in 2014. Its next regular meeting will be on Wednesday, March 19. Additional meetings have been scheduled for May 20, June 10, August 26, October 28, and December 16.  A complete schedule of meetings is available here: http://gab.wi.gov/about/meetings.


Attachment Size
NR GAB New Officers 01-14-14.pdf 22.15 KB