Independent Candidates for President File Paperwork

MADISON, WI – Five independent candidates filed signatures and paperwork today with the Wisconsin Elections Commission to get their names on the ballot for President of the United States in the state for the November 3 General Election.

Under Wisconsin law, independent presidential candidates can get on the ballot by filing a minimum of 2,000 valid signatures of Wisconsin electors on nomination papers, as well as a Declaration of Candidacy form for both the presidential and vice-presidential candidates.

These candidates filed papers today:

  • Jo Jorgensen (Pres.) and Jeremy Spike Cohen (VP) - Libertarian Party 
  • Howie Hawkins (Pres.) and Angela Walker (VP) - Green Party 
  • Brian Carroll (Pres.) and Amar Patel (VP) - American Solidarity Party
  • Kanye West (Pres.) and Michelle Tidball (VP) - BDY (The Birthday Party) Independent
  • Kyle Kenley Kopitke (Pres.) and Taja Yvonne Iwanow (VP) – The Peoples Revolution

Copies of the nomination papers filed by all candidates will be available Wednesday on the Commission’s data website:

WEC staff will be reviewing the petitions in the coming days to determine sufficiency and that the candidates meet all qualifications to get on the ballot. All candidates are currently in pending status and have not yet been approved. Candidates for the November 3 General Election will be certified by the WEC at a later date.