Central Count Absentee Ballot Municipalities

The governing body of any municipality may provide by ordinance that, instead of processing absentee ballots at the polling place, absentee ballots be processed and canvassed at an alternate site. Wis. Stat. § 7.52. The municipality is required to submit a notification, in writing, to the Wisconsin Elections Commission on how the municipality intends to process absentee ballots at a central location and the municipality is required to consult with the Wisconsin Elections Commission staff. The municipal board of absentee ballot canvassers shall publicly canvass all absentee ballots at all elections held in the municipality after the passage of an ordinance directing alternate central count of absentee ballots. 

Municipalities that use central count are required by statute to post the number of absentee ballots that the clerk has mailed or transmitted to voters and that have been returned by the closing hour on Election Day. 

For more information about Central Count Absentee procedures, please see the Election Administration Manual.

List of municipalities currently authorized to use Central Count Absentee Ballot sites.

County Municipality Name Year Implemented
Brown City of De Pere 2016
Brown City of Green Bay 2016
Brown Village of Allouez 2016
Brown Village of Ashwaubenon 2019
Brown Village of Bellevue 2016
Brown Village of Hobart 2016
Brown Village of Suamico 2016
Douglas City of Superior 2016
Kenosha City of Kenosha 2008
Kenosha Village of Pleasant Prairie 2016
Kenosha Village of Salem Lakes 2017
Kenosha Town of Somers 2019
Kenosha Village of Somers 2018
Manitowoc City of Manitowoc 2020
Marathon Village of Weston 2016
Marathon City of Wausau 2020
Milwaukee City of Franklin 2016
Milwaukee City of Milwaukee 2007
Milwaukee City of Oak Creek 2015
Milwaukee Village of Shorewood 2019
Milwaukee City of South Milwaukee 2015
Milwaukee City of Wauwatosa 2016
Milwaukee Village of Greendale  2011
Milwaukee City of West Allis 2020
Outagamie Town of Grand Chute 2018
Racine City of Racine 2022
Rock City of Beloit 2016
Rock City of Janesville 2016
St. Croix City of Hudson 2019
St. Croix City of River Falls 2016
Washington City of West Bend 2018
Washington Village of Germantown 2018
Waukesha City of Delafield 2020
Waukesha Town of Mukwonago 2021
Waukesha City of Pewaukee 2012
Winnebago  Village of Fox Crossing 2019
Winnebago City of Neenah 2019