Government Accountability Board

State of Wisconsin

212 E. Washington Ave., Third Floor * Madison, WI 53703 * gab@wi.gov * (608) 266-8005 * Help Desk (608) 261-2028 * http://gab.wi.gov

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: January 5, 2016

FOR MORE INFORMATION, CONTACT: Reid Magney, 608-267-7887

Republican and Democratic Candidates Selected for Presidential Primary

Madison, WI – Wisconsin's Presidential Preference Selection Committee today selected three Democrats and 12 Republicans who will appear as candidates on the ballot for the Presidential Preference Vote on April 5, 2016.

The committee, which has convened every four years since 1968, met in the State Capitol and approved the candidates from lists submitted by representatives of the two political parties permitted by statute to participate in the presidential primary. The Committee has the sole discretion to determine those individuals whose candidacies are generally recognized or advocated in the national news media for placement on Wisconsin's presidential primary ballot.

These candidates will appear on their respective party ballots:

Republican **Democratic** Jeb Bush Hillary Clinton Ben Carson Martin O'Malley Chris Christie **Bernie Sanders** Ted Cruz Carly Fiorina Jim Gilmore Mike Huckabee John Kasich Rand Paul Marco Rubio Rick Santorum Donald Trump

Today's meeting opens a four-week window in which candidates chosen by the Committee may opt out, or those not chosen may circulate nominating petitions to get on the ballot. To be removed from the ballot, a candidate must file a disclaimer with the Government Accountability Board by January 26. To get on the ballot, an omitted candidate must collect at least 1,000 signatures from each of Wisconsin's eight congressional districts by January 26. The candidates' ballot order will be selected at random after the deadline.

On April 5, 2016, Wisconsin electors will have the opportunity to express their preference for a presidential candidate, at the Spring Election for judicial and other local non-partisan candidates. In the Presidential Preference Primary, an elector may vote on the ballot of only one political party. The elector may choose to vote by one of the following methods:

- Vote for one of the persons whose names are printed on the ballot;
- Vote for an uninstructed delegation from Wisconsin to the national convention of the party;
- Write in the name of another person to become the presidential candidate of the party.

The committee was chaired by Bob Lang, director of the Legislative Fiscal Bureau. Members of the committee, as established under Wisconsin law, were:

- Representative Peter Barca, Minority Leader of the Assembly
- Mary Buestrin, Republican National Committeewoman
- Brad Courtney, Chairperson, Republican Party of Wisconsin
- Steve King, Republican National Committeeman
- Ms. Martha Laning, Chairperson, Democratic Party of Wisconsin
- Senator Mary Lazich President of the Senate
- Martha Love, Democratic National Committeewoman
- Jason R. Rae, Democratic National Committeeman
- Senator Jennifer Shilling Minority Leader of the Senate
- Representative Robin Vos, Speaker of the Assembly

Kevin J. Kennedy, Wisconsin's chief elections officer, said today's Presidential Preference Selection Committee meeting starts the state's presidential selection process. The presidential process will culminate in December 2016, when presidential electors from the party whose candidate receives the most votes will gather at the State Capitol to cast their votes in the Electoral College.

###

The Government Accountability Board (G.A.B.) is responsible for administration and enforcement of campaign finance, elections, ethics and lobbying laws in Wisconsin. The G.A.B. is made up of six non-partisan, former judges and is supported by an agency of non-partisan staff members.