

## Wisconsin Elections Commission

212 East Washington Avenue | Third Floor | P.O. Box 7984 | Madison, WI 53707-7984 (608) 266-8005 | elections@wi.gov | elections.wi.gov

April 21, 2022

Jay Stone 10501 82<sup>nd</sup> Street Pleasant Prairie, WI 53158

Sent via email: jayjoelstone@gmail.com

**Re:** Complaint Filed with Wisconsin Elections Commission Case No.: EL 21-40: Stone v. Barrett et al.

Dear Mr. Stone:

This communication is to inform you that the verified complaint you filed against various respondents was dismissed by the Wisconsin Elections Commission ("Commission") at its April 20, 2022, meeting.

The Commission passed the following motions in closed session by 5-1 votes:

The Wisconsin Elections Commission finds that the complaint of Jay Stone against various individuals, in Stone v. Barrett et al. (EL 21-40), does not present reasonable suspicion that a violation of Wis. Stats. §§ 5.68(1) and (2) or 12.09 occurred, and the matter is hereby dismissed. Additionally, the Commission orders that all future Wis. Stats. §§ 5.05 and 5.06 complaints relating to the acceptance and use of 2020 CTCL election grant funds shall be considered untimely, barred by laches and issue preclusion, or otherwise nonjusticiable under those statutes. This order does not foreclose consideration of similar, future CTCL grant fund complaints under Wis. Stats. §§ 5.05 and 5.06, if CTCL grant funds are newly distributed during future election cycles. All pending complaints solely alleging that acceptance and use of 2020 CTCL grant funds constituted a violation of Wis. Stat. Chapters 5-10 and 12 shall be dismissed, and complaints raising such allegations along with others shall have the CTCL-specific grant fund allegations dismissed without foreclosing the entirety of the complaint.

and

Commission staff are directed to place the decisions in the three Stone complaints on the Complaints page of the Wisconsin Elections Commission website and provide a copy of those motions to the parties in the pending CTCL complaints filed with the Commission.

If you have questions regarding the dismissal of this complaint, please feel free to contact me.

Wisconsin Elections Commissioners

Ann S. Jacobs, chair | Marge Bostelmann | Julie M. Glancey | Dean Knudson | Robert Spindell | Mark L. Thomsen

Sincerely, iteda Jim Witecha

## WISCONSIN ELECTIONS COMMISSION

cc: Commission Members Meagan Wolfe, Commission Administrator