

Wisconsin Elections Commission

212 East Washington Avenue | Third Floor | P.O. Box 7984 | Madison, WI 53707-7984 (608) 266-8005 | elections@wi.gov | elections.wi.gov

Wisconsin Elections Commission

Special Teleconference Meeting
212 E. Washington Avenue, Third Floor
Madison, Wisconsin
10:30 a.m. May 22, 2021

Minutes

Present: Commissioner Ann Jacobs, Commissioner Marge Bostelmann, Commissioner Julie Glancey,

Commissioner Dean Knudson, Commissioner Robert Spindell Jr., and Commissioner Mark

Thomsen, all by teleconference.

Staff present: Richard Rydecki, Robert Kehoe, and Reid Magney, all by teleconference

A. Call to Order

Commission Chair Ann Jacobs called the meeting to order at 10:37 a.m.

B. Administrator's Report of Appropriate Meeting Notice

Deputy Administrator Richard Rydecki informed the Commission that proper notice was given for the meeting.

Chairwoman Jacobs called the roll. All Commissioner were present.

C. Ballot Access Report and Certification of Candidates for the 2021 Special Election for Assembly District 37

Chairwoman Jacobs summarized the only agenda item: ballot access certification for candidates in the 37th Assembly District Special Election. She noted that a memorandum was prepared by WEC staff that outlined the number of valid signatures each candidate submitted with their nomination paperwork.

MOTION: Staff recommends that the Commission certify ballot access for the 10 candidates listed in the memorandum.

Steve Kauffeld, Republican, 266 signatures Spencer Zimmerman, Republican, 208 signatures Jenifer L. Quimby, Republican, 308 signatures Nick Krueger, Republican, 296 signatures Cathy Ann Houchin, Republican, 213 signatures

Wisconsin Elections Commissioners

Ann Jacobs, chair | Marge Bostelmann | Julie M. Glancey | Dean Knudson | Robert Spindell | Mark L. Thomsen

Wisconsin Elections Commission May 22, 2021 AD 37 Ballot Access Meeting Page 2 of 2

> Nathan Pollnow, Republican, 336 signatures Jennifer Meinhardt, Republican, 277 signatures William Penterman, Republican, 246 signatures Pete Adams, Democratic, 221 signatures Stephen W. Ratzlaff, Jr., Independent, 218 signatures

Moved by Commissioner Bostelmann. Seconded by Commissioner Glancey.

Roll call vote: Bostelmann: Aye Glancey: Aye

Jacobs: Aye Spindell: Aye Knudson: Aye Thompson: Aye

Motion carried 6-0.

D. Adjourn

MOTION: To adjourn.

Moved by Commissioner Spindell. Seconded by Commissioner Bostelmann.

Roll call vote: Bostelmann: Aye Glancey: Aye

Jacobs: Aye Spindell: Aye Knudson: Aye Thompson: Aye

Motion carried 6-0.

The meeting adjourned at 10:45 a.m.

####

May 22, 2020 Wisconsin Election Commission meeting minutes prepared by:

Jacob Walters, Operations Program Associate May 24, 2021

May 22, 2020 Wisconsin Election Commission meeting minutes certified by:

Marge Bostelmann, Commission Secretary

June 2, 2021