

Wisconsin Elections Commission

212 East Washington Avenue | Third Floor | P.O. Box 7984 | Madison, WI 53707-7984 (608) 266-8005 | elections@wi.gov | elections.wi.gov

Wisconsin Elections Commission

Special Teleconference Meeting
212 E. Washington Avenue, Third Floor
Madison, Wisconsin
7:30 a.m. April 29, 2021

Open Session Minutes

Present: Commissioner Ann Jacobs, Commissioner Marge Bostelmann, Commissioner Julie Glancey,

Commissioner Dean Knudson, Commissioner Robert Spindell Jr., and Commissioner Mark

Thomsen, all by teleconference.

Staff present: Meagan Wolfe, Sharrie Hauge, Robert Kehoe, Jim Witecha, Reid Magney, Nathan Judnic, and

Jacob Walters, all by teleconference

A. Call to Order

Commission Chair Ann Jacobs called the meeting to order at 7:45 a.m.

B. Administrator's Report of Appropriate Meeting Notice

Administrator Meagan Wolfe informed the Commission that proper notice was given for the meeting.

C. Discussion and Approval of the 2021 Four-Year Voter Record Maintenance Mailer and Timeline

Administrator Wolfe began by reviewing with the Commission some of the statutory background for this mailer and the history of its design, including the rates of response for each design that was implemented. She then presented the proposed design for the 2021 Four-Year Record Maintenance Mailer, which incorporates suggestions previously made by Commissioners, and reviewed statutory deadlines.

Administrator Wolfe introduced Technology Director Robert Kehoe who touched on two items not explicitly mentioned in the WEC staff memorandum: The use of barcodes on the mailer, two USPS Intelligent Mail Barcodes and a third barcode to assist clerks with processing. He also noted that the timeline of this mailer is affected by the Special Election that was recently called for the 37th Assembly District.

MOTION: The Commission authorizes staff to proceed with plans for mailing four-year voter record maintenance notices to voters using the postcard designs and the schedule proposed in the April 29, 2021, staff memorandum.

Moved by Commissioner Thomsen. Seconded by Commissioner Glancey.

Roll call vote: Bostelmann: Aye Glancey: Aye

Jacobs: Aye Spindell: Aye Knudson: Aye Thompson: Aye

Motion carried 6-0.

D. Adjourn

MOTION: To adjourn.

Moved by Commissioner Bostelmann. Seconded by Commissioner Glancey.

Roll call vote: Bostelmann: Aye Glancey: Aye

Jacobs: Aye Spindell: Aye Knudson: Aye Thompson: Aye

Motion carried 6-0.

The meeting adjourned at 7:48 a.m.

####

April 29, 2021 Wisconsin Election Commission meeting minutes prepared by:

Jacob Walters, Operations Program Associate

April 29, 2021

April 29, 2021 Wisconsin Election Commission meeting minutes certified by:

Marge Bostelmann, Commission Secretary

yaige Bottelmean

June 2, 2021