

Wisconsin Elections Commission

212 East Washington Avenue | Third Floor | P.O. Box 7984 | Madison, WI 53707-7984 (608) 266-8005 | elections@wi.gov | elections.wi.gov

Wisconsin Elections Commission

Special Teleconference Meeting
212 E. Washington Avenue, Third Floor
Madison, Wisconsin
3:00 p.m. April 10, 2020

Open Session Minutes

Present: Commissioner Ann Jacobs, Commissioner Marge Bostelmann, Commissioner Julie Glancey,

Commissioner Dean Knudson, Commissioner Robert Spindell Jr., and Commissioner Mark

Thomsen, all by teleconference.

Staff present: Meagan Wolfe, Richard Rydecki, Sharrie Hauge, Robert Kehoe, Michael Haas, Nathan Judnic,

and Reid Magney, all by teleconference

A. Call to Order

Commission Chair Dean Knudson called the meeting to order at 3:00 p.m. and called the roll. All Commissioners were present.

B. Administrator's Report of Appropriate Meeting Notice

Administrator Meagan Wolfe informed the Commission that proper notice was given for the meeting.

D. Fall Nomination Papers Procedures

(This item was taken out of order.)

Staff Attorney Nathan Judnic began by reviewing with the Commission the WEC staff memorandum on the circulation of nomination papers for the 2020 General Election.

Discussion.

MOTION:

1) The Commission reaffirms that it does not have the statutory authority to change or modify current statutory procedures related to the circulation of nomination papers for the 2020 General Election.

Wisconsin Elections Commissioners Dean Knudson, chair | Marge Bostelmann | Julie M. Glancey | Ann Jacobs | Robert Spindell | Mark L. Thomsen Wisconsin Elections Commission April 10, 2020 Open Meeting Minutes Page 2 of 5

2) In light of the COVID-19 public health emergency, the Commission reaffirms the use of "single signed and circulated" nomination papers to limit the amount of in-person/face-to-face contact that normally occurs during the circulation of nomination papers.

Moved by Commissioner Knudson. Seconded by Commissioner Spindell.

Voice vote: Bostelmann: Aye Glancey: Aye

Jacobs: Aye Spindell: Aye Knudson: Aye Thomsen: Aye

Motion carried 6-0.

Discussion.

MOTION: The Wisconsin Elections Commission encourages all candidates to circulate their nomination papers via mail.

Moved by Commissioner Bostelmann. Seconded by Commissioner Glancey.

Voice vote: Bostelmann: Aye Glancey: Aye

Jacobs: Aye Spindell: Aye Knudson: Aye Thomsen: Aye

Motion carried 6-0.

Discussion.

C. Discussion of Absentee Mail, Postmarks, and Canvass

Administrator Wolfe presented on a WEC staff memorandum that outlined proposed guidance to local election officials regarding the processing of Spring Election absentee ballots that were returned by voters through the USPS.

Questions for Administrator Wolfe and Staff Attorney Michael Haas.

Discussion.

MOTION: If an absentee ballot for the 2020 Spring Election and Presidential Preference Vote does not have a visible postmark that indicates the date of April 7, 2020 or before, it shall not be counted.

Moved by Commissioner Spindell. Seconded by Commissioner Knudson.

Discussion.

FRIENDLY AMENDMENT: If the United States Postal Service certifies that an absentee ballot for the 2020 Spring Election and Presidential Preference Vote was in its possession on April 7, 2020, that ballot may be counted if received on April 8, 2020.

Proposed by Commissioner Bostelmann. Not accepted by Commissioner Spindell.

Roll call vote: Bostelmann: Aye Glancey: No

Jacobs: No Spindell: Aye Knudson: Aye Thomsen: No

Motion failed 3-3.

MOTION: All absentee ballots for the 2020 Spring Election and Presidential Preference Vote that bear a postmark with a date of April 7, 2020 or before shall be counted.

Moved by Commissioner Knudson. Seconded by Commissioner Spindell.

Discussion.

Roll call vote: Bostelmann: Aye Glancey: Aye

Jacobs: Aye Spindell: Aye Knudson: Aye Thomsen: Aye

Motion carried 6-0.

MOTION: If Elections Commission staff can get a signed statement from a United States Postal Service authority that states that the stamp that reads "APR 2020" was only used on April 7, and that this stamp indicates its being received by USPS on April 7 or before, those ballots shall be counted.

Moved by Commissioner Knudson. Seconded by Commissioner Bostelmann.

Discussion.

Roll call vote: Bostelmann: Aye Glancey: Aye

Jacobs: Aye Spindell: Aye Knudson: Aye Thomsen: Aye

Motion carried 6-0.

MOTION: All absentee ballots for the 2020 Spring Election and Presidential Preference Vote arriving at a clerk's office on April 8, 2020 via the United States Postal Service shall be counted, with or without any postmark.

Moved by Commissioner Jacobs. Seconded by Commissioner Glancey.

Discussion.

Roll call vote: Bostelmann: No Glancey: Aye

Jacobs: Aye Spindell: No Knudson: No Thomsen: Aye

Motion failed 3-3.

Discussion.

MOTION: The Commission also directs that it is not sufficient for a voter to deposit their absentee ballot return envelope into a mailbox by April 7, 2020. Similar to other time-sensitive documents such as tax returns or government applications, in order to be timely there must be proof that the ballot was in the possession of a USPS processing facility or post office on or before April 7, 2020.

Moved by Commissioner Knudson. Seconded by Commissioner Bostelmann.

Discussion.

Withdrawn by Commissioner Knudson.

E. Closed Session

MOTION: Move to closed session for the purposes of conferring with legal counsel concerning litigation strategy as permitted by Wis. Stat. § 19.85(1)(g).

Moved by Commissioner Knudson. Seconded by Commissioner Bostelmann.

Discussion.

Motion withdrawn by Commission Knudson.

F. Adjourn

MOTION: To adjourn.

Moved by Commissioner Thomsen. Seconded by Commissioner Jacobs.

Voice vote: Bostelmann: Aye Glancey: Aye

Jacobs: Aye Spindell: Aye Knudson: Aye Thomsen: Aye

Motion carried 6-0.

The meeting adjourned at 5:36 p.m.

####

April 10, 2020 Wisconsin Election Commission meeting minutes prepared by:

Jacob Walters, Operations Program Associate

June 2, 2021

Wisconsin Elections Commission April 10, 2020 Open Meeting Minutes Page 5 of 5

April 10, 2020 Wisconsin Election Commission meeting minutes certified by:

Marge Bostelmann, Commission Secretary

June 2, 2021