

Wisconsin Elections Commission

212 East Washington Avenue | Third Floor | P.O. Box 7984 | Madison, WI 53707-7984 (608) 266-8005 | elections@wi.gov | elections.wi.gov

Wisconsin Elections Commission Wisconsin Elections Commission Offices

212 E. Washington Avenue, Third Floor Madison, Wisconsin 4:00 p.m. February 12, 2020

Open Session Minutes

- Present: Commissioner Dean Knudson, Commissioner Marge Bostelmann, Commissioner Julie Glancey, Commissioner Ann Jacobs, Commissioner Robert Spindell Jr., and Commissioner Mark Thomsen, all by teleconference
- Staff present: Meagan Wolfe, Richard Rydecki, Michael Haas, Sharrie Hauge, Reid Magney and Nathan Judnic

A. Call to Order

Commission Chair Dean Knudson called the meeting to order at 4:02 p.m. and called the roll. All Commissioners were present.

B. Administrator's Report of Appropriate Meeting Notice

Administrator Meagan Wolfe informed the Commissioners that proper notice was given for the meeting.

C. Guidance to clerks and voters about A/B ballots for the April 7 Presidential Preference and Spring Non-Partisan Election

Administrator Wolfe and Deputy Administrator Richard Rydecki made a presentation regarding guidance staff has provided to clerks regarding A and B ballots for the 2020 Presidential Preference Primary. A memorandum starts on page 2 of the February 12, 2020, Commission meeting materials packet.

MOTION: Direct staff to enforce Wis. Stat. § 7.15(1)(cm) as previously interpreted by this body and to create possible changes to that review. Moved by Commissioner Jacobs, seconded by Commissioner Thomsen.

Commissioner Spindell offered an amendment that the previous interpretation of absentee ballot procedures would apply to all elections in 2020. Commissioner Jacobs accepted the amendment.

Wisconsin Elections Commissioners

Dean Knudson, chair | Marge Bostelmann | Julie M. Glancey | Ann S. Jacobs | Robert Spindell | Mark L. Thomsen

Discussion.

Commissioner Knudson asked Administrator Wolfe to restate the motion based on the Commission's discussions.

MOTION: Direct staff to follow and issue guidance Wis. Stat. § 7.15(1)(cm) in keeping with the approach used for the 2012 and 2016 elections. This should apply to all elections in 2020 and preserve the clerks complying with the 47- and 45-day deadlines for UOCAVA (Uniformed and Overseas Citizen Absentee Voting Act) voters.

Commissioner Jacobs concurred with that summary of her motion.

Commissioner Knudson called the question.

Roll call vote: Thomsen:	Aye	Spindell:	Aye
Jacobs:	Aye	Glancey:	Aye
Bostelmann:	Aye	Knudson:	Aye

Motion carried unanimously.

Commissioners and staff discussed the status of absentee ballots issued in the 7th Congressional District for the special partisan primary on February 18.

D. Closed Session

Commissioner Knudson said there was no need for the Commission to go into closed session.

E. Adjourn

MOTION: Adjourn. Moved by Commissioner Jacobs, seconded by Commissioner Bostelmann. Motion carried unanimously.

The Commission adjourned in closed session at 4:58 p.m.

####

The next regular meeting of the Wisconsin Elections Commission is scheduled for Thursday, February 27, 2020, at the Wisconsin Elections Commission offices in Madison, Wisconsin beginning at 10:00 a.m.

February 12, 2020 Wisconsin Elections Commission meeting minutes prepared by:

February 12, 2020 Wisconsin Elections Commission Meeting Minutes Page 3

Reid Magney, Public Information Officer

February 25, 2020

February 12, 2020 Wisconsin Elections Commission meeting minutes certified by:

Julie Glancey, Commission Secretary

February 27, 2020