

## Wisconsin Elections Commission

212 East Washington Avenue | Third Floor | P.O. Box 7984 | Madison, WI 53707-7984 (608) 266-8005 | elections@wi.gov | elections.wi.gov

\_\_\_\_\_

**DATE:** For the May 22, 2021 Meeting of the Wisconsin Elections Commission

**TO:** Members, Wisconsin Elections Commission

**FROM:** Meagan Wolfe, Administrator

**SUBJECT:** Ballot Access for Assembly District 37 Special Election

## **Summary**

Due to a resignation of the incumbent Representative to the Assembly, Governor Tony Evers issued Executive Order 113 to call a special election to fill the seat of Assembly District 37. The special election for this office will be held on July 13, 2021. A primary will be held on June 15, 2021, if necessary.

The filing period for the special elections began on April 27, 2021, and the deadline for filing nominating paperwork was May 18, 2021. 10 candidates have filed all required paperwork for the seat. A primary will be required for all ballot access parties as there are multiple candidates running for the Republican nomination.

## Nomination Paper Review Process and Ballot Access Document Filing

Staff continues to use internal nomination paper review standards based on the requirements set forth in Wis. Stat. §§ 8.10 and 8.30 and Wis. Admin. Code Ch. EL 2 to determine if a candidate has filed a sufficient number of signatures to qualify for ballot access. During the review process, staff did not identify any irregularities in the nomination papers of all six candidates. All ten candidates also timely filed declarations of candidacy, campaign registration statements, and statements of economic interest required for ballot access.

The table below lists all of the candidates that filed nomination paperwork, their party, and the number of valid signatures identified by staff:

Name of Candidate	Party or Statement of Principle	Number of Signatures
Steve Kauffeld	Republican	266
Spencer Zimmerman	Republican	208
Jenifer L. Quimby	Republican	308
Nick Krueger	Republican	296
Cathy Ann Houchin	Republican	213
Nathan Pollnow	Republican	336
Jennifer Meinhardt	Republican	277
William Penterman	Republican	246
Pete Adams	Democratic	221
Stephen W. Ratzlaff, Jr.	Independent	218

Ballot Access for Assembly District 37 Special Election Memo For the May 22, 2021 Commission Meeting Page 2

## **Recommended Motion:**

Staff recommends that the Commission certify ballot access for the ten candidates listed in the table above.