

Wisconsin Elections Commission

212 East Washington Avenue | Third Floor | P.O. Box 7984 | Madison, WI 53707-7984 (608) 266-8005 | elections@wi.gov | elections.wi.gov

DATE: For the January 12, 2021 Meeting of the Wisconsin Elections Commission

TO: Members, Wisconsin Elections Commission

FROM: Meagan Wolfe, Administrator

SUBJECT: Ballot Access for Assembly District 89 Special Election

Summary

Due to a resignation of the incumbent Representative to the Assembly, Governor Tony Evers has issued Executive Order 99 to call a special election to fill the seats of Assembly District 89. The special election for this office will be held in conjunction with the April 6, 2021 Spring Election. A primary will be held on the same day as the Spring Primary on February 16, 2021.

The filing deadline for the special election began on December 22, 2020, and the deadline for filing nominating paperwork was January 8, 2021. Six candidates have filed all required paperwork for the seat. A primary will be required for all ballot access parties as there are multiple candidates running for the Republican nomination.

Nomination Paper Review Process and Ballot Access Document Filing

Staff continues to use internal nomination paper review standards based on the requirements set forth in Wis. Stat. §§ 8.10 and 8.30 and Wis. Admin. Code Ch. EL 2 to determine if a candidate has filed a sufficient number of signatures to qualify for ballot access. During the review process, staff did not identify any irregularities in the nomination papers of all six candidates. All six candidates also timely filed declarations of candidacy, campaign registration statements, and statements of economic interest required for ballot access.

The table below lists all of the candidates that filed nomination paperwork, their party, and the amount of signatures identified by staff:

Name of Candidate	Party	Number of Signatures
Debbie Jacques	Republican	213
Elijah Behnke	Republican	234
David J. Kamps	Republican	238
Michael T. Kunesh	Republican	400
Michael Schneider	Republican	265
Karl Jaeger	Democratic	344

Recommended Motion:

Staff recommends that the Commission certify ballot access for the six candidates listed in the table above.