## Wisconsin Elections Commission

## State of Wisconsin

212 E. Washington Ave., Third Floor \* Madison, WI 53703 \* elections@wi.gov \* (608) 266-8005 \* https://elections.wi.gov

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: May 22, 2020

FOR MORE INFORMATION, CONTACT: Reid Magney, 608-267-7887

## WEC Moves Candidate Filing Location to UW-Madison Due to COVID-19 Starting May 26

MADISON, WI – Wisconsin candidates for state and federal offices who still need to file nomination papers by June 1 will do so at a temporary location on the UW-Madison campus.

Starting Tuesday, May 26, candidates will file paperwork at Varsity Hall at Union South, located at 1308 W. Dayton St., Madison, WI 53715. Varsity Hall is on the second floor.

Meagan Wolfe, administrator of the Wisconsin Elections Commission, said that because of the COVID-19 pandemic, there is not enough space at the agency's small office in downtown Madison to safely accommodate the hundreds of candidates and their supporters who will be filing paperwork in the week before the deadline on Monday, June 1.

As a result, the WEC arranged with UW-Madison to use Varsity Hall at Union South, which has more than 10,000 square feet of floor space for adequate social distancing.

Union South is currently not open for students and the general public. Free, underground parking will be available for candidates coming to file their paperwork.

WEC requests that candidates who are filing paperwork in person make an appointment online at https://wec.appointlet.com or by calling 608-261-2028.

For more information about filing nomination papers, visit our website: <a href="https://elections.wi.gov/candidates/nomination-papers">https://elections.wi.gov/candidates/nomination-papers</a>

###

The Wisconsin Elections Commission is responsible for administration and enforcement of election laws in Wisconsin. The Commission is made up of six Commissioners – four appointed directly by the State Senate Majority Leader, Speaker of the Assembly and the Minority Leaders in the State Senate and Assembly. The remaining two Commissioners are appointed by the Governor with confirmation by the State Senate from lists of former municipal and county clerks submitted by the legislative leadership in each party.