

# Wisconsin Elections Commission

201 West Washington Avenue | Second Floor | P.O. Box 7984 | Madison, WI 53707-7984 (608) 266-8005 | elections@wi.gov | elections.wi.gov

#### Wisconsin Elections Commission Special Teleconference Meeting 201 W. Washington Avenue, Second Floor Madison, Wisconsin 8:30 A.M Sept. 18, 2024

#### Open Session Minutes

- Present: Commissioner Marge Bostelmann, Commissioner Ann Jacobs, Commissioner Don M. Millis, Commissioner Carrie Riepl, Commissioner Robert Spindell Jr., and Commissioner Mark Thomsen, all by teleconference.
- Staff present: Ahna Barreau, Amelia Brichford, Sharrie Hauge, Robert Kehoe, Angela Sharpe, Riley Vetterkind, Riley Willman, Jim Witecha, and Meagan Wolfe, all by teleconference.

## A. Call to Order

Commission Chair Jacobs called the virtual meeting to order at 8:30 a.m. and called the roll. All Commissioners were present.

## **B.** Administrator's Report of Appropriate Meeting Notice

Administrator Wolfe informed the Commission that the meeting was noticed in accordance with Wisconsin's open meeting laws.

## C. Consideration and Resolution of Wis. Stat § 5.06 Complaints

## 1. EL 23-24 – Junior Gurgel v. Sandra Swanson

**Original Motion:** The Commission has reviewed the proposed draft decision letter in **Appendix 1**, and summarily decides this matter pursuant to Wis. Stat. § 5.06(6) by adopting the proposed decision letter in full. The Commission directs staff to immediately transmit a copy of this order to the parties.

Moved by Commissioner Bostelmann. Seconded by Commissioner Riepl.

Commissioner Millis stated that he would prefer to remove the word "summarily" from all recommended motions today. All commissioners agreed.

**Motion:** The Commission has reviewed the proposed draft decision letter in **Appendix 1**, and decides this matter pursuant to Wis. Stat. § 5.06(6) by adopting the proposed decision letter in full. The Commission directs staff to immediately transmit a copy of this order to the parties.

Moved by Commissioner Bostelmann. Seconded by Commissioner Riepl.

Roll call vote: Bostelmann:	Aye	Riepl:	Aye
Jacobs:	Aye	Spindell:	Aye
Millis:	Aye	Thomsen:	Aye

Motion carried 6-0.

#### 2. EL 24-69 – Katherine Thomas v. Brian Neumann

**Motion**: The Commission has reviewed the proposed draft decision letter in **Appendix 2**, and decides this matter pursuant to Wis. Stat. § 5.06(6) by adopting the proposed decision letter in full. The Commission directs staff to immediately transmit a copy of this order to the parties.

Moved by Commissioner Millis. Seconded by Commissioner Bostelmann.

Roll call vote: Bostelmann:	Aye	Riepl:	Aye
Jacobs:	Aye	Spindell:	Aye
Millis:	Aye	Thomsen:	Aye

Motion carried 6-0.

## 3. EL 24-88 – Sharon Galonski v. Brenda Petersen

**Motion**: The Commission has reviewed the proposed draft decision letter in **Appendix 3**, and decides this matter pursuant to Wis. Stat. § 5.06(6) by adopting the proposed decision letter in full. The Commission directs staff to immediately transmit a copy of this order to the parties.

Moved by Commissioner Thomsen. Seconded by Commissioner Riepl.

Roll call vote: Bostelmann:	Aye	Riepl:	Aye
Jacobs:	Aye	Spindell:	Aye
Millis:	Aye	Thomsen:	Aye

Motion carried 6-0.

## 4. EL 24-86 – Terry Johnson v. Town Board, Westfield

**Motion**: The Commission has reviewed the proposed draft decision letter in **Appendix 4**, and decides this matter pursuant to Wis. Stat. § 5.06(6) by adopting the proposed decision letter in full. The Commission directs staff to immediately transmit a copy of this order to the parties.

Wisconsin Elections Commission Sept. 18, 2024 Open Session Minutes Page **3** of **3** 

Moved by Commissioner Thomsen. Seconded by Commissioner Spindell.

Roll call vote: Bostelmann:	Aye	Riepl:	Aye
Jacobs:	Aye	Spindell:	Aye
Millis:	Aye	Thomsen:	Aye

Motion carried 6-0.

## D. Adjourn

**MOTION**: To adjourn.

Moved by Commissioner Bostelmann. Seconded by Commissioner Millis.

The Commission adjourned at 8:35 a.m.

####

September 18, 2024 Wisconsin Election Commission meeting minutes prepared by:

Amelia Brichford, Help Desk Staff

October 4, 2024

September 18, 2024, Wisconsin Election Commission meeting minutes certified by:

-Marge Bostelman

Marge Bostelmann, Commission Secretary

October 4, 2024