

Wisconsin Elections Commission

201 West Washington Avenue | Second Floor | P.O. Box 7984 | Madison, WI 53707-7984 (608) 266-8005 | elections@wi.gov | elections.wi.gov

Wisconsin Elections Commission

Special Teleconference Meeting
201 W. Washington Avenue, Second Floor
Madison, Wisconsin
3:30 p.m. June 27, 2023

Open Session Minutes

Present: Commissioner Marge Bostelmann, Commissioner Joseph J. Czarnezki, Commissioner Ann

Jacobs, Commissioner Don M. Millis, Commissioner Robert Spindell Jr., and Commissioner

Mark Thomsen, all by teleconference.

Staff present: Joel DeSpain, Sharrie Hauge, Brandon Hunzicker, Robert Kehoe, Anna Langdon, Sara Linski,

Angela O'Brien, John Smalley, Riley Willman, Jim Witecha and Meagan Wolfe, all by

teleconference.

A. Call to Order

Commission Chair Millis called the meeting to order at 3:30 p.m. and called the roll. All Commissioners were present.

B. Administrator's Report of Appropriate Meeting Notice

Administrator Meagan Wolfe informed the Commission that the meeting was noticed in accordance with Wisconsin's open meetings laws.

C. Closed Session

Chair Millis stated that the Commission would reconvene into open session, and notified members of the public that they would be provided a 10-minute notice of when open session would resume.

MOTION: To go into closed session pursuant to Wis. Stat. § 19.85(1)(g)

Moved by Commissioner Jacobs. Seconded by Commissioner Bostelmann.

Roll call vote: Bostelmann: Aye Czarnezki: Aye

Jacobs: Aye Spindell: Aye Millis: Aye Thomsen: Aye

Motion carried 6-0.

Wisconsin Elections Commissioners

Don M. Millis, chair | Marge Bostelmann | Joseph J. Czarnezki | Ann S. Jacobs | Robert Spindell | Mark L. Thomsen

The Commission left open session at 3:32 p.m.

D. Resume Open Session: Appointment of an Interim Administrator and an Administrator for the 4-Year Term Expiring on July 1, 2027, Pursuant to Wis. Stat. § 15.61(1)(b) and to Transmit the Appointment of the Administrator to the State Senate Within 7 Days

The Commission returned at 5:00 p.m. All Commissioners were present. In addition to the staff listed above, Riley Vetterkind was present.

Chair Millis introduced the agenda item.

Discussion ensued.

MOTION: Confirm Meagan Wolfe as the Administrator for the next four years.

Moved by Commissioner Spindell. Seconded by Commissioner Bostelmann.

Discussion ensued.

Roll call vote: Bostelmann: Aye Czarnezki: Abstain

Jacobs: Abstain Spindell: Aye Millis: Aye Thomsen: Abstain

Motion failed 3-0-3.

E. Adjourn

MOTION: To adjourn.

Moved by Commissioner Spindell. Seconded by Commissioner Bostelmann.

Roll call vote: Bostelmann: Aye Czarnezki: Aye

Jacobs: Aye Spindell: Aye Millis: Aye Thomsen: Aye

Motion carried 6-0.

The Commission adjourned at 5:56 p.m.

####

June 27, 2023 Wisconsin Election Commission meeting minutes prepared by:

anna Lam

Wisconsin Elections Commission June 27, 2023 Open Meeting Minutes Page 3 of 3

Anna Langdon, Help Desk Staff

June 27, 2023 Wisconsin Election Commission meeting minutes certified by:

Joseph Czarnezki, Commission Secretary