

# Wisconsin Elections Commission

201 West Washington Avenue | Second Floor | P.O. Box 7984 | Madison, WI 53707-7984 (608) 266-8005 | elections@wi.gov | elections.wi.gov

#### Wisconsin Elections Commission

Special Teleconference Meeting 201 W. Washington Avenue, Second Floor Madison, Wisconsin 8:00 a.m. January 9, 2024

#### **Open Session Minutes**

- Present: Commissioner Marge Bostelmann, Commissioner Ann Jacobs, Commissioner Don M. Millis, Commissioner Carrie Riepl, Commissioner Robert Spindell Jr., and Commissioner Mark Thomsen, all by teleconference.
- Staff present: Joel DeSpain, Sharrie Hauge, Brandon Hunzicker, Robert Kehoe, Anna Langdon, Angela O'Brien, Riley Vetterkind, Riley Willman, Jim Witecha, and Meagan Wolfe, all by teleconference.

## A. Call to Order

Commission Chair Millis called the meeting to order at 8:01 a.m. and called the roll. All Commissioners were present.

## **B.** Administrator's Report of Appropriate Meeting Notice

Administrator Meagan Wolfe informed the Commission that the meeting was noticed in accordance with Wisconsin's open meetings laws.

# C. Ballot Access Challenge

# a. Kaney V. Leichsenring (EL 24-03)

Staff Attorney Brandon Hunzicker provided an overview of the challenge and staff's recommendation to sustain three challenges and reject one challenge.

Discussion.

Chair Millis noted that the parties would each have five minutes to present their positions.

Adam Kaney appeared and presented arguments on his own behalf.

Jesse Leichsenring appeared and presented arguments on his own behalf.

Discussion.

Wisconsin Elections Commissioners Don M. Millis, chair | Marge Bostelmann | Ann S. Jacobs | Carrie Riepl | Robert Spindell | Mark L. Thomsen **MOTION:** The Commission sustains three challenges within Adam Kaney v. Jesse Leichsenring (EL 24-03) and rejects one challenge in accordance with the staff recommendations contained in this memo. The Commission finds that Jesse Leichsenring submitted 197 valid signatures on his nomination papers. The Commission thus denies ballot access to Jesse Leichsenring for submitting less than the minimum number of 200 required signatures on his nomination papers.

Moved by Commissioner Jacobs. Seconded by Commissioner Riepl.

Roll call vote: Bostelmann	: Aye	Riepl:	Aye
Jacobs:	Aye	Spindell:	Aye
Millis:	Aye	Thomsen:	Aye

Motion carried 6-0.

## D. Ballot Access Report and Certification of Candidates for the 2024 Spring Election

Elections Supervisor Riley Willman provided an overview of the ballot access memo and attachments.

Discussion.

**MOTION:** The 70 candidates representing ballot-status parties marked "approve" on the "Candidates Tracking by Office" report are approved for ballot access for the April 2, 2024 Spring Election and Presidential Preference, in addition to any candidates who were subject to challenge but were ultimately approved for ballot access by the Commission.

Moved by Commissioner Thomsen. Seconded by Commissioner Bostelmann.

Roll call vote:	Bostelmann:	Aye	Riepl:	Aye
	Jacobs:	Aye	Spindell:	Aye
	Millis:	Aye	Thomsen:	Aye

Motion carried 6-0.

**MOTION:** The four candidates marked "deny" in Attachment B are denied ballot access for the April 2, 2024 Spring Election and Presidential Preference, in addition to any candidates who were subject to challenge and were ultimately denied ballot access by the Commission.

Moved by Commissioner Thomsen. Seconded by Commissioner Jacobs.

Roll call vote: Bostelmann:	Aye	Riepl:	Aye
Jacobs:	Aye	Spindell:	Aye
Millis:	Aye	Thomsen:	Aye

Motion carried 6-0.

### E. Adjourn

MOTION: To adjourn.

Wisconsin Elections Commission January 9, 2024, Open Meeting Minutes Page **3** of **3** 

Moved by Commissioner Spindell. Seconded by Commissioner Jacobs.

Roll call vote: Bostelmann:	Aye	Riepl:	Aye
Jacobs:	Aye	Spindell:	Aye
Millis:	Aye	Thomsen:	Aye

Motion carried 6-0.

The Commission adjourned at 8:31 a.m.

####

January 9, 2024, Wisconsin Election Commission meeting minutes prepared by:

anna Lan

Anna Langdon, Help Desk Staff

January 9, 2024

January 9, 2024, Wisconsin Election Commission meeting minutes certified by:

Canie & Riepl

Carrie Riepl, Commission Secretary

January 24, 2024