

Wisconsin Elections Commission

201 West Washington Avenue | Second Floor | P.O. Box 7984 | Madison, WI 53707-7984 (608) 266-8005 | elections@wi.gov | elections.wi.gov

Wisconsin Elections Commission

Special Teleconference Meeting 201 W. Washington Avenue, Second Floor Madison, Wisconsin 3:00 p.m. August 4, 2023

Open Session Minutes

- Present: Commissioner Marge Bostelmann, Commissioner Joseph Czarnezki, Commissioner Ann Jacobs, Commissioner Don M. Millis, Commissioner Robert Spindell Jr., and Commissioner Mark Thomsen, all by teleconference.
- Staff present: Sharrie Hauge, Brandon Hunzicker, Robert Kehoe, Anna Langdon, Sara Linski, Angela O'Brien, Riley Vetterkind, Riley Willman, Jim Witecha, and Meagan Wolfe, all by teleconference.

A. Call to Order

Commission Chair Millis called the meeting to order at 3:02 p.m. and called the roll. All Commissioners were present.

B. Administrator's Report of Appropriate Meeting Notice

Administrator Meagan Wolfe informed the Commission that the meeting was noticed in accordance with Wisconsin's open meetings laws.

C. 2023 Commission Meeting Schedule

Chair Millis stated that the Commission needed to schedule a special meeting prior to August 31 to approve a response to the Elections Assistance Commission in open session and consider a closed session item. Additionally, the Commission needed to reschedule the September 20 quarterly meeting, the date for which had been established via motion earlier in the year.

Discussion.

The Commission agreed to schedule the August meeting for August 30 at 1:30 p.m.

Discussion.

MOTION: To reschedule the quarterly meeting from September 20 to September 7 at 10 a.m.

Wisconsin Elections Commissioners Don M. Millis, chair | Marge Bostelmann | Joseph J. Czarnezki | Ann S. Jacobs | Robert Spindell | Mark L. Thomsen Moved by Commissioner Thomsen. Seconded by Commissioner Spindell.

| Roll call vote: Bostelmann: | Aye | Czarnezki: | Aye |
|-----------------------------|-----|------------|-----|
| Jacobs: | Aye | Spindell: | Aye |
| Millis: | Aye | Thomsen: | Aye |

Motion carried 6-0.

D. Discussion of, and Possible Action on, Absentee Envelope and Certificate Redesign

Technology Director Sara Linski reviewed the results of staff's testing and outreach concerning the absentee envelope and certificate redesign and presented the final design of the EL-122 certificate envelopes and the EL-120 carrier envelopes.

Discussion.

MOTION: Adopt the proposed envelopes as submitted using Appendix A, found on page 12 of the Commission's materials, as the envelope for in-person absentee and regular voter absentee. Staff will caution clerks that there may be statutory or other legal changes, so clerks should adjust their ordering accordingly.

Moved by Commissioner Jacobs. Seconded by Commissioner Thomsen.

FRIENDLY AMENDMENT: If blue is used as the differentiating color for the outgoing envelope, the USPS "Official Election Mail" postal marking will be red.

Proposed by Commissioner Spindell. Agreed to by Commissioner Jacobs and Commissioner Thomsen.

Discussion.

FINAL MOTION: Adopt the proposed envelopes as submitted using Appendix A, found on page 12 of the Commission's materials, as the envelope for in-person absentee and regular voter absentee. Staff will caution clerks that there may be statutory or other legal changes, so clerks should adjust their ordering accordingly. If blue is used as the differentiating color for the outgoing envelope, the USPS "Official Election Mail" postal marking will be red.

| Roll call vote: Bostelmann: | Aye | Czarnezki: | Aye |
|-----------------------------|-----|------------|-----|
| Jacobs: | Aye | Spindell: | Aye |
| Millis: | Aye | Thomsen: | Aye |

Motion carried 6-0.

MOTION: The Commission approves the proposed timeline for development and approval of the Uniform Instructions.

Moved by Commissioner Thomsen. Seconded by Commissioner Bostelmann.

| Roll call vote: | Bostelmann: | Aye | Czarnezki: | Aye |
|-----------------|-------------|-----|------------|-----|
| | Jacobs: | Aye | Spindell: | Aye |

Millis: Aye Thomsen: Aye

Motion carried 6-0.

E. Adjourn

MOTION: To adjourn.

Moved by Commissioner Jacobs. Seconded by Commissioner Bostelmann.

Roll call vote: Bostelmann: Aye Czarnezki: Aye Jacobs: Aye Spindell: Aye Millis: Aye Thomsen: Aye

Motion carried 6-0.

The Commission adjourned at 3:54 p.m.

####

August 4, 2023 Wisconsin Election Commission meeting minutes prepared by:

Anna Langdon, Help Desk Staff

August 4, 2023

August 4, 2023 Wisconsin Election Commission meeting minutes certified by:

Joseph J. Czarnezki, Commission Secretary

September 7, 2023