

# Wisconsin Elections Commission

201 West Washington Avenue | Second Floor | P.O. Box 7984 | Madison, WI 53707-7984 (608) 266-8005 | elections@wi.gov | elections.wi.gov

### Wisconsin Elections Commission Special Teleconference Meeting 201 W. Washington Avenue, Second Floor Madison, Wisconsin 5:00 p.m. August 16, 2023

# **Open Session Minutes**

- Present: Commissioner Marge Bostelmann, Commissioner Joseph Czarnezki, Commissioner Ann Jacobs, Commissioner Don M. Millis, Commissioner Robert Spindell Jr., and Commissioner Mark Thomsen, all by teleconference.
- Staff present: Sharrie Hauge, Brandon Hunzicker, Robert Kehoe, Anna Langdon, Angela O'Brien, Riley Vetterkind, Riley Willman, Jim Witecha, and Meagan Wolfe, all by teleconference.

# A. Call to Order

Commission Chair Millis called the meeting to order at 5:01 p.m. and called the roll. All Commissioners were present.

# **B.** Administrator's Report of Appropriate Meeting Notice

Administrator Meagan Wolfe informed the Commission that the meeting was noticed in accordance with Wisconsin's open meetings laws.

# C. Authorizing the Participation of the Administrator at a Hearing to be Conducted by the Senate Committee on Shared Revenue, Elections and Consumer Protection on the Nomination Referred to in 2023 Senate Resolution 3.

Chair Millis explained the agenda item.

Discussion.

MOTION: Authorize Administrator Wolfe to go to the hearing, should she desire to do so.

Moved by Commissioner Spindell. Commissioner Bostelmann expressed willingness to second if a vote is necessary.

Discussion.

#### Offer to second withdrawn by Commissioner Bostelmann.

Wisconsin Elections Commissioners Don M. Millis, chair | Marge Bostelmann | Joseph J. Czarnezki | Ann S. Jacobs | Robert Spindell | Mark L. Thomsen Wisconsin Elections Commission August 16, 2023 Open Meeting Minutes Page **2** of **2** 

Motion failed for lack of a second.

# D. Closed Session a. Litigation Update / Wis. Stat. § 5.05 Complaint

**MOTION:** To move into closed session pursuant to Wis. Stat. § 19.85(1)(g) and § 19.851(2).

Moved by Commissioner Jacobs. Seconded by Commissioner Bostelmann.

Roll call vote: Bostelmann	: Aye	Czarnezki:	Aye
Jacobs:	Aye	Spindell:	Aye
Millis:	Aye	Thomsen:	Aye

Motion carried 6-0.

The Commission left open session at 5:34 p.m.

### E. Adjourn

The Commission adjourned in closed session at 6:28 p.m.

####

August 16, 2023 Wisconsin Election Commission meeting minutes prepared by:

anna La

Anna Langdon, Help Desk Staff

August 17, 2023

August 16, 2023 Wisconsin Election Commission meeting minutes certified by:

-Mí

Joseph J. Czarnezki, Commission Secretary

September 7, 2023