

Wisconsin Elections Commission

212 East Washington Avenue | Third Floor | P.O. Box 7984 | Madison, WI 53707-7984 (608) 266-8005 | elections@wi.gov | elections.wi.gov

Wisconsin Elections Commission

Special Teleconference Meeting Board Room Madison, Wisconsin 9:00 a.m. December 16, 2019

Open Session Minutes

Present: Commissioner Dean Knudson, Commissioner Marge Bostelmann, Commissioner Julie

Glancey, Commissioner Ann Jacobs and Commissioner Mark Thomsen by

teleconference. Commissioner Robert Spindell Jr. in person.

Staff present: Meagan Wolfe, Richard Rydecki, Michael Haas, Robert Kehoe, Sharrie Hauge, Reid

Magney, and Nathan Judnic

A. Call to Order

Commission Chair Dean Knudson called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. and called the roll.

B. Administrator's Report of Appropriate Meeting Notice

Administrator Meagan Wolfe informed the Commissioners that proper notice was given for the meeting.

C. Ballot Access Report and Certification of Candidates for the 7th Congressional District Special Election

Administrator Wolfe presented a report on ballot access for the 7th Congressional District special election. A written memorandum starts on page 2 of the December 16 WEC meeting materials packet. Staff recommends the Commission certify ballot access for Democratic candidates Lawrence Dale and Tricia Zunker and Republican candidates Tom Tiffany and Jason Church. These candidates appear as "approved" on the Candidate Tracking report that accompanies the memorandum.

MOTION: Certify ballot access for the four candidates listed as "approved" on the Candidate Tracking Report. Moved by Commissioner Thomsen, seconded by Commissioner Bostelmann. Motion carried unanimously.

D. Closed Session

Wisconsin Elections Commissioners

Litigation Update

MOTION: Move to closed session pursuant to Wis. Stat. § 19.85(1)(g) to confer with counsel concerning litigation. Moved by Commissioner Spindell, seconded by Commissioner Glancey.

Roll call vote: Bostelmann Aye Glancey: Aye

Jacobs: Aye Knudson: Aye Spindell Aye Thomsen: Aye

Motion carried unanimously.

The Commission adjourned to closed session at 9:06 a.m. and returned to open session at 10:08 a.m.

E. ERIC Movers List Litigation

MOTION: That the Wisconsin Elections Commission should adopt as a policy that ERIC Movers list information should be considered reliable information that a voter has moved under Wis. Stat. § 6.51(3). Moved by Commissioner Knudson, seconded by Commissioner Spindell.

Discussion.

Commissioner Knudson amended his motion to refer to Wis. Stat. § 6.50(3).

Roll call vote: Bostelmann Aye Glancey: No

Jacobs: No Knudson: Aye Spindell Aye Thomsen: No

Motion failed on 3-3 vote.

MOTION: That once the Wisconsin Elections Commission receives clarity from the courts, that it institute a two-part program for the ERIC Movers List: A) The Commission will send a second postcard to the approximately 160,000 people who did not respond to the first letter. B) To maintain confidence in the voter registration system, an advertising program be put forth, with a budget to be determined, to make everyone aware that once voters have been deactivated how they can reregister. Moved by Commissioner Spindell.

Motion failed for lack of a second.

MOTION: Direct WEC staff to comply with the Ozaukee County Circuit Court's written order within seven business days. Moved by Commissioner Knudson, seconded by Commissioner Spindell.

Discussion.

Roll call vote: Bostelmann Aye Glancey: No

Jacobs: No Knudson: Aye Spindell Aye Thomsen: No

Motion failed on 3-3 vote.

F. Adjourn

MOTION: Adjourn. Moved by Commissioner Thomsen, seconded by Commissioner Spindell. Motion carried unanimously.

The Commission adjourned at approximately 10:40 a.m.

####

The next regular meeting of the Wisconsin Elections Commission is scheduled for Tuesday, January 14, 2020, at the Wisconsin Elections Commission offices in Madison, Wisconsin beginning at 10:00 a.m.

December 16, 2019 Wisconsin Elections Commission meeting minutes prepared by:

Reid Magney, Public Information Officer

February 25, 2020

December 16, 2019 Wisconsin Elections Commission meeting minutes certified by:

Julie Glancey, Commission Secretary

February 27, 2020