Wisconsin Elections Commission

212 East Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor Post Office Box 7984 Madison, WI 53707-7984 (608) 261-2028 Elections@wi.gov Elections.wi.gov



COMMISSIONERS

BEVERLY R. GILL
JULIE M. GLANCEY
ANN S. JACOBS
JODI JENSEN
DEAN KNUDSON
MARK L. THOMSEN, CHAIR

INTERIM ADMINISTRATOR MEAGAN WOLFE

Wisconsin Elections Commission

Wisconsin Elections Commission Offices 212 East Washington Avenue Madison, Wisconsin 9:00 a.m. Monday, April 23, 2018

Open Session Minutes

Present: Commissioner Mark Thomsen, Commissioner Ann Jacobs, Commissioner Julie Glancey,

and Commissioner Jodi Jensen (all by telephone)

Absent: Commissioner Beverly Gill and Commissioner Dean Knudson

Staff present: Meagan Wolfe, Michael Haas, Nathan Judnic, Sharrie Hauge, Diane Lowe and Reid

Magney

A. Call to Order

Commission Chair Mark Thomsen called the meeting to order at 9:09 a.m.

B. Administrator's Report of Appropriate Meeting Notice

Interim Administrator Meagan Wolfe informed the Commissioners that proper notice was given for the meeting.

C. Ballot Access Report and Certification of Candidates for Special Elections in Senate District 1 and Assembly District 42

Lead Elections Specialist Diane Lowe made a presentation based on a memorandum starting on page 1 of the April 23 meeting materials regarding certification of candidates for the special election primary on May 15, 2018. Ten candidates registered with the Ethics Commission and nine of those filed ballot access paperwork with the Elections Commission. Of the nine, there were three candidates (two Republicans and one Democrat) in Senate District 1 and six candidates in Assembly District 42 (four Republicans, two Democrats and one Independent). The Commission received no challenges.

Ms. Lowe said staff recommends denying ballot access to one candidate who registered but did not file nomination papers and other ballot access paperwork. Staff also recommends certifying ballot status for the remaining nine candidates who filed sufficient ballot access paperwork by

the deadline. The Independent candidate for Assembly District 42 will not appear on the May 15 partisan primary, but will appear on the June 12, 2018 Special Election ballot.

Discussion.

MOTION: Deny ballot access for Nicholas John Schneider. Moved by Commissioner Jacobs, seconded by Commissioner Glancey. Motion carried 4-0.

MOTION: Absent any successful ballot access challenges, certify ballot status for the nine candidates listed as "approved" on the attached Candidates on Ballot Reports. Moved by Commissioner Glancey, seconded by Commissioner Jacobs. Motion carried 4-0.

D. Adjourn

MOTION: To adjourn. Moved by Commissioner Glancey, seconded by Commissioner Jacobs. Motion carried 4-0.

The Commission adjourned at 9:14 a.m.

####

The next regular meeting of the Wisconsin Elections Commission is scheduled for Tuesday, May 24, 2018, at the Commission's offices in Madison, Wisconsin beginning at 10:00 a.m.

April 23, 2018 Wisconsin Elections Commission meeting minutes prepared by:

Reid Magney, Public Information Officer

April 23, 2018 Wisconsin Elections Commission meeting minutes certified by:

Beverly Gill, Commission Secretary

May 24, 2018