

Wisconsin Elections Commission

201 West Washington Avenue | Second Floor | P.O. Box 7984 | Madison, WI 53707-7984 (608) 266-8005 | elections@wi.gov | elections.wi.gov

April 2, 2024

Jason Gerend W376 County Road ZZ Kaukana, WI 54130

Sent via email: jwgerend@gmail.com

Re: Complaint Filed with Wisconsin Elections Commission Case No.: EL 24-30 – Gerend v. Sigmund et al

Dear Mr. Gerend,

On April 2, 2024, the Wisconsin Elections Commission (WEC) received a sworn complaint from you naming Ms. Julie Sigmund, Ms. Diane Laabs, Ms. Ruth Aerts, Clerk Shelia Bowers, and Deputy Clerk Patti Lietermann as respondents. You alleged that these respondents are all election officials for the Village of Wrightstown.

I am unable to process your complaint because it contains at least one deficiency. Under Wis. Admin. Code EL \S 20.04(1), I am required to determine within 10 business days whether the complaint is timely, sufficient as to form, and states probable cause. If the complaint does not meet that standard, the administrative code directs me to promptly return the complaint without prejudice, specifying both the defect in the complaint and the information appropriate to correct the defect, if possible. Wis. Admin. Code EL \S 20.04(2).

Your complaint is not sufficient as to form because you do not appear to be an elector of Clerk Bowers' jurisdiction of the Town of Wrightsville. To bring a complaint against an election official pursuant to Wis. Stat. § 5.06(1), you must be "...an elector of [the] jurisdiction or district served by [the] election official..." Wis. Stat. § 5.06(1). Our records indicate that the address you provided, W376 County Road ZZ, Kaukana, WI 54130, falls within the Town of Buchanan, which is served by Clerk Cynthia Sieracki.

I am returning your complaint to you without prejudice, meaning you are free to file it again once you have corrected the deficiency outlined above. The only way to correct this type of deficiency would be for an elector from the Town of Wrightstown to file the complaint.

If you have specific questions about the complaint process, please contact Angela O'Brien Sharpe at angela.sharpe@wisconsin.gov.

Sincerely,

WISCONSIN ELECTIONS COMMISSION

, AM. Wolfe Pengan

Meagan Wolfe Administrator

cc: Commission Members