

Wisconsin Elections Commission

201 West Washington Avenue | Second Floor | P.O. Box 7984 | Madison, WI 53707-7984 (608) 266-8005 | elections@wi.gov | elections.wi.gov

October 25, 2024

Brad Calder W249 S8910 Center Dr. Vernon, WI 53103

Sent via email to: <u>clerk@villageofvernonwi.org</u>

Re: Complaint Filed with the Wisconsin Elections Commission: (EL 24–107) Beth Kreitzer v. Brad Calder

Dear Clerk Calder,

Attached to the email transmitting this notice, please find a sworn Wisconsin Statute § 5.06 complaint filed with the Wisconsin Elections Commission (Commission) by Beth Kreitzer. The complaint alleges violations related to the handling and instructions of her overseas absentee ballot.

Individuals that believe the actions of an election official were contrary to an election law or were an abuse of discretion in applying an election law may file a complaint with the Commission. As the Respondent, you may now provide a sworn written response to the complaint within 13 business days of the date appearing on this letter, which is **November 13, 2024**. Your response should address the allegations raised in the complaint.

After you file your response, the Complainant may file a reply within 13 business days of the date that the Commission transmits your response to the Complainant. Once all allowable filings have been received, the Commission staff will review the information and draft a decision letter for the Commission's consideration and decision at an upcoming meeting.

You may file your response via email addressed to <u>brandon.hunzicker@wisconsin.gov</u> and <u>elections@wi.gov</u> so long as it is clear that the original document has been sworn before an individual that can administer oaths, like a notary public, or that you have completed an unsworn declaration. You may also file the response via regular mail to the address listed in the header above. If you have any additional questions, please feel free to contact me at 608-267-0714.

Sincerely,

Bronden Humsicher

Brandon Hunzicker Staff Attorney WISCONSIN ELECTIONS COMMISSION

Cc: Meagan Wolfe, Commission Administrator

Wisconsin Elections Commissioners Ann S. Jacobs, chair | Marge Bostelmann | Don M. Millis | Carrie Riepl | Robert Spindell | Mark L. Thomsen