Presidential Preference Selection Committee to Meet, Choose Candidates for Wisconsin’s April Presidential Primary


MADISON, WI – At 1 p.m. on Tuesday, January 5, 2016, a committee comprised of Republican and Democratic Party representatives will meet in the Governor’s Conference Room to determine which candidates will appear on the ballot for Wisconsin’s Presidential Preference Primary.

Under Wisconsin law, preparation of the ballot for the presidential primary begins with the convening of a state nominating committee.  The committee is charged with the responsibility to place on the ballot the names of all candidates whose candidacy is generally advocated or recognized in the national news media.  The committee has the sole discretion to determine which candidates meet the statutory criteria and may also place the names of other candidates on the ballot.

The nominating committee consists of representatives of each political party whose candidates for governor in 2014 received at least 10 percent of the total votes cast for that office.  In 2016 the nominating committee will include the chairpersons and one national committeeman and one national committeewoman of the Republican and Democratic parties, the President and Minority Leader of the State Senate, and the Speaker and Minority Leader of the State Assembly, or the designees of these officials.  The nominating committee will select one additional member to serve as the committee’s chairperson.

In addition to names submitted by the party representatives, the Government Accountability Board will provide the nominating committee with a list of candidates for consideration who have contacted the agency or who have registered with the Federal Election Commission.  Following the committee’s certification of the slate of candidates, the Board will notify each nominee that they will be placed on the ballot unless the nominee files a disclaimer stating that they do not intend to become a candidate for President at the 2016 general election.

Wisconsin’s Presidential Preference Primary coincides with the spring nonpartisan election to be held on April 5, 2016.  

For more information, contact

Reid Magney, Public Information Officer, 608-267-7887,