12 Local Elections Held Today


MADISON, WI – Voters in seven Wisconsin school districts and five communities are going to the polls today to cast ballots in special elections, according to the Government Accountability Board.  They are:

  • Boscobel School District (Grant, Richland & Crawford Counties)
  • Peshtigo School District (Marinette County)
  • Potosi School District (Grant County)
  • Tigerton School District (Shawano & Waupaca Counties)
  • Tomorrow River School District (Portage County)
  • Shawano School District (Shawano County)
  • Unity School District (Polk County)
  • City of Hudson Aldermanic District (St. Croix County)
  • Town of Polk Municipal Referendum (Washington County)
  • Town of Greenville Municipal Referendum (Outagamie County)
  • Town of Windsor Municipal Referendum (Dane County)
  • Village of Germantown Municipal Referendum (Washington County)

Polling places are open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. today.  Voters in places with special elections can learn about polling place locations and what’s on the ballot at MyVote.WI.gov.  Results of today’s special elections will be available from school district and municipal clerks’ offices.

An acceptable photo ID is now required for voters to receive a ballot in Wisconsin.  Voters who are not sure if they have an acceptable photo ID can visit BringIt.WI.gov for more information. Voters who need to get a free state ID card for voting purposes from the DMV are encouraged to get started now to be ready for 2016.

Around the country, several states are holding elections for mayors and other local officials.  Wisconsin holds its regular, nonpartisan local elections in the spring.  In 2016, there are four scheduled elections:

  • Spring Primary – February 16
  • Spring Election and Presidential Preference Vote – April 5
  • Partisan Primary – August 9
  • Fall General Election – November 8


For more information, contact

Reid Magney, Public Information Officer, 608-267-7887, [email protected]