Governor Receives Nominees to Government Accountability Board


MADISON, WI – The Government Accountability Candidate Committee today nominated four former Wisconsin judges to fill an upcoming vacancy on the Government Accountability Board due to the expiration of the term of Judge Thomas Cane.

The committee selected the Honorable Gary L. Carlson of Medford, the Honorable Harold V. Froehlich of Appleton, the Honorable William A. Jennaro of Milwaukee, and the Honorable Elsa C. Lamelas of Shorewood from a field of seven applicants.  

  • Judge Carlson served as a Taylor County Circuit Court Judge from 1980 to 2008.
  • Judge Froehlich is a former Wisconsin Legislator and Member of Congress who served as an Outagamie County Circuit Judge from 1981 to 2011.
  • Judge Jennaro served as a Milwaukee County Court Judge and as a Circuit Court judge for 12 years before leaving the bench in 1984 for private practice.
  • Judge Lamelas served as a Milwaukee County Circuit Court Judge from 1993 to 2012.

The names of the four nominees were sent today to Governor Scott Walker.  By law, the Governor must appoint one of the four judges to serve on the Government Accountability Board for a six-year term.  The appointment must be confirmed by a two-thirds vote of the State Senate.

Judge Cane was an original member of the Board, appointed in 2007.  He chose not to apply for a second term. Judge Cane’s term will end May 1, or when the Governor appoints a successor, whichever is later.  The six G.A.B. members serve six-year staggered terms, and Judge Cane’s term is the fifth to end since the G.A.B. was created in 2007.

The Candidate Committee is made up of four sitting Wisconsin Court of Appeals judges: Judge Ralph Adam Fine of District I in Milwaukee, Judge Paul F. Reilly of District II in Waukesha, Deputy Chief and Presiding Judge Michael W. Hoover of District III in Wausau, and Presiding Judge Paul Lundsten of District IV in Madison.  They are required to submit a minimum of two names to the Governor for each vacancy, but may submit more.

Candidate Committee members were selected at random on February 12, 2013, by the Chief Justice of the Wisconsin Supreme Court for a two-year term.  They are charged with nominating individuals to serve on the G.A.B. from a list of applicants, all of whom must be former elected judges.

For more information about current members of the Board, visit


For more information, contact

Reid Magney, public information officer, 608-267-7887