New G.A.B. Candidate Committee Selected


MADISON, WI – Four Wisconsin Court of Appeals judges were selected Tuesday to serve on the Government Accountability Candidate Committee.

They are Judge Ralph Adam Fine of District I in Milwaukee, Judge Paul F. Reilly of District II in Waukesha, Deputy Chief and Presiding Judge Michael W. Hoover of District III in Wausau, and Presiding Judge Paul Lundsten of District IV in Madison.

Wisconsin Supreme Court Chief Justice Shirley S. Abramson conducted the random drawing prior to oral arguments in the Supreme Court Hearing Room at the Capitol.  For each of the four appellate districts, she drew one name at random from a hat containing the names of all the Court of Appeals judges in that district.  As required by state law, all seven justices were present for the drawing.

The candidate committee is responsible for reviewing applications by former state judges to serve as members of the Government Accountability Board (G.A.B.), and must unanimously agree on each nominee.  For each vacancy, the committee forwards at least two names to the Governor.  The Governor’s appointment to the G.A.B. must be confirmed by a two-thirds vote of the State Senate.  

This spring, the candidate committee will meet publicly to review applications to fill the seat of Judge Thomas Cane of Wausau, whose five-year term expires in May.  Judge Cane, who is one of the Board’s original members, is still contemplating whether to apply for another term.  

The G.A.B. is made up of six members who are all former state judges and who must be non-partisan, which means they may not be a member of a political party or make political donations for a year prior to appointment and during their service.  Members serve staggered, six-year terms.  The agency’s nonpartisan structure, and the process for selecting its board members, is unique in the United States.

The new candidate committee begins its two-year term on March 1, 2013.  The outgoing candidate committee was comprised of Judge Kitty K. Brennan of District I in Milwaukee, Chief Judge Richard S. Brown of District II in Waukesha, former Deputy Chief Judge Gregory A. Peterson of District III in Wausau, and Judge Brian W. Blanchard of District IV in Madison.


For more information, contact

Reid Magney, public information officer, 608-267-7887