July 12 / August 9, 2011 Recall Elections

On June 3, 2011, the Government Accountability Board ordered recall elections for July 12, 2011 in the following State Senate Districts:

District 2 -- Senator Robert Cowles.  Senator Cowles retained his seat.

District 8 -- Senator Alberta Darling.  Senator Darling retained her seat.

District 10 -- Senator Sheila Harsdorf.  Senator Harsdorf retained her seat.

District 14 -- Senator Luther Olsen.  Senator Olsen retained his seat.

District 18 -- Senator Randy Hopper.  Senator Hopper lost his seat.

District 32 -- Senator Dan Kapanke.  Senator Kapanke lost his seat.

Because more than one person challenged each incumbent, the July 12 election became a primary, and the general recall election was held four weeks later on August 9, 2011.

August 9 Recall Election Results

Official results of the August 9 Recall Elections in Senate Districts 2, 8, 10, 14, 18 and 32.

July 12 Primary Results 

Official results of the August 9 Recall Primaries in Senate Districts 2, 8, 10, 14, 18 and 32.

List of All Candidates for July 12, 2011 Recall Primary Elections

This PDF report shows all candidates who will be on the ballot.  There is also a list of all candidates who registered for campaign finance purposes.  For information about campaign donations and spending, please use the Campaign Finance Information System.