Central Count Absentee Ballot Sites

The governing body of any municipality may provide by ordinance that, instead of processing absentee ballots at the polling place, absentee ballots be processed and canvassed at an alternate site. Wis. Stat. § 7.52. The municipality is required to submit a notification, in writing, to the Wisconsin Elections Commission on how the municipality intends to process absentee ballots at a central location and the municipality is required to consult with the Wisconsin Elections Commission staff. The municipal board of absentee ballot canvassers shall publicly canvass all absentee ballots at all elections held in the municipality after the passage of an ordinance directing alternate central count of absentee ballots. 

Municipalities that use central count are required by statute to post the number of absentee ballots that the clerk has mailed or transmitted to voters and that have been returned by the closing hour on Election Day. 

For more information about Central Count Absentee procedures, please see the Election Administration Manual.

List of municipalities authorized to use Central Count Absentee Ballot sites in 2020

County Municipality Name
Ashland/Bayfield City of Ashland
Brown City of De Pere
Brown City of Green Bay
Brown Village of Allouez
Brown Village of Ashwaubenon
Brown Village of Bellevue
Brown Village of Hobart
Brown Village of Suamico
Dane Town of Cottage Grove
Dane Town of Oregon
Douglas City of Superior
Kenosha City of Kenosha
Kenosha Village of Pleasant Prairie
Kenosha Town of Somers
Kenosha Village of Somers
Manitowoc City of Manitowoc
Marathon City of Wausau
Milwaukee City of Franklin
Milwaukee City of Milwaukee
Milwaukee City of West Allis
Milwaukee City of Oak Creek
Milwaukee Village of Shorewood
Milwaukee City of South Milwaukee
Milwaukee City of Wauwatosa
Milwaukee Village of Greendale 
Milwaukee City of West Allis
Outagamie Village of Combined Locks*
Outagamie Town of Grand Chute
Rock City of Beloit
Rock City of Janesville
St. Croix City of Hudson
St. Croix City of River Falls
Washington City of West Bend
Washington Village of Germantown
Waukesha City of Brookfield
Waukesha City of New Berlin
Waukesha City of Pewaukee
Waukesha Village of Menomonee Falls
Winnebago  Village of Fox Crossing
Winnebago City of Neenah

* Central count ordinance passed in 2011.  Not currently utilized.