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Information provided by the Wisconsin Government 
Accountability Board  

(See contact information below) 

What is the 
Voter 
Photo ID 
Law?  

 Wisconsin law requires a voter to show an 
acceptable photo ID before receiving a ballot 
starting with the 2012 February Primary.    

 Wisconsin law requires a voter to sign the poll list 
before receiving a ballot, unless a disability 
prevents the voter from doing so. 

 Voters without an acceptable photo ID at the polls 
on Election Day are allowed to cast a provisional 
ballot (see provisional voting instructions).  

 
 
 
What is an 
acceptable 
ID?  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A VALID PHOTO ID IS NOT REQUIRED TO HAVE A 
CURRENT ADDRESS 

 A Wisconsin DOT-issued driver license, even if 
driving privileges are revoked or suspended 
 

 A Wisconsin DOT-issued identification card  
 

 A Wisconsin DOT-issued identification card or 
driver license with no photo issued under the 
religious exemption 
 

 A Military ID card issued by a U.S. uniformed 
service  
 

 A U.S. passport  
 

For 2012 elections, identifications listed 
above are also acceptable if expired on a 
date after the November 2, 2010 election.  

 
 A certificate of naturalization that was issued not 

earlier than two years before the date of an 
election at which it is presented 
 

 An unexpired driving receipt or temporary driving 
receipt  issued by Wisconsin DOT 
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What is an 
acceptable 
ID? 
(Cont’d.)  
 

 
 An unexpired identification card receipt or 

temporary identification card receipt issued by 
Wisconsin DOT 
 

 An identification card issued by a federally 
recognized Indian tribe in Wisconsin  
 

 An unexpired identification card issued by a 
Wisconsin-accredited university or technical 
college that is accompanied with proof of 
enrollment and that contains the following: date of 
issuance, signature of student; expiration date no 
later than two years after date of issuance 
 

 A citation or notice of intent to revoke or suspend a 
Wisconsin DOT–issued driver license that is dated 
within 60 days of the date of the election.  
 

How do I     
get a free 
photo ID to 
vote?  

Wisconsin law requires the Department of 
Transportation to provide free ID cards to any individual 
who will be at least 18 years of age on the date of the 
next election and who requests a free ID for voting.  To 
learn how to obtain a free ID card visit 
www.BringIt.Wisconsin.Gov or call 1-866-VOTE-WIS. 

Due to the need to provide a birth certificate and other 
documents to receive a DOT-issued ID, individuals 
should start the process of obtaining statutory 
identification well in advance of an election at which 
they wish to vote. 

For detailed information about the Voter Photo ID law, please visit 
BringIt.Wisconsin.Gov or call 1-866-VOTE-WIS or contact the 
Wisconsin Government Accountability Board Help Desk at 608-261-
2028 or TTY 1-800-947-3529. 


