

Wisconsin Elections Commission

212 East Washington Avenue | Third Floor | P.O. Box 7984 | Madison, WI 53707-7984 (608) 266-8005 | elections@wi.gov | elections.wi.gov

Wisconsin Elections Commission Wisconsin Elections Commission Offices 212 E. Washington Avenue, Third Floor Madison, Wisconsin 4:00 p.m. July 30, 2020

Open Session Minutes

- Present: Commissioner Ann Jacobs, Commissioner Marge Bostelmann, Commissioner Julie Glancey, Commissioner Dean Knudson, Commissioner Robert Spindell Jr., and Commissioner Mark Thomsen, all via teleconference.
- Staff present: Meagan Wolfe, Richard Rydecki, Robert Kehoe, Sharrie Hauge, Nathan Judnic and Reid Magney, Sara Linski, Tony Bridges, Michelle Hawley

A. Call to Order

Commission Chair Ann Jacobs called the meeting to order at 4:00 p.m. and called the roll. All Commissioners were present.

B. Administrator's Report of Appropriate Meeting Notice

Administrator Meagan Wolfe informed the Commissioners that proper notice was given for the meeting. She explained that a second emergency meeting was noticed for 6:00 p.m. to deal with a last-minute issue related to face coverings.

C. Approval of County Election Security Grants

Administrator Wolfe introduced Technology and Training Director Robert Kehoe, Election Security Lead Tony Bridges and Michelle Hawley, who made a presentation based on a written report starting on page 2 of the meeting materials.

Discussion.

MOTION: Approve the grant applications, subject to the EAC guidance referenced in the staff memorandum, for the 55 counties listed and partial approval for two counties listed. WEC further directs staff to allocate the funds requested (up to \$35,000 base and \$.30/eligible voter) to the 57 counties listed.

Counties: Barron, Bayfield, Brown, Buffalo, Calumet, Chippewa, Clark, Columbia, Dane, Dodge, Door, Douglas, Dunn, Eau Claire, Florence, Fond Du Lac, Green, Green

Wisconsin Elections Commissioners Ann Jacobs, chair | Marge Bostelmann | Julie M. Glancey | Dean Knudson | Robert Spindell | Mark L. Thomsen Lake, Jackson, Jefferson, Juneau, Kenosha, Kewaunee, La Crosse (partial), Lafayette, Lincoln, Manitowoc, Marathon, Marinette, Marquette, Oconto, Oneida, Outagamie, Ozaukee, Polk, Portage, Price, Racine, Rock, Rusk, Sauk, Sawyer, Shawano, Sheboygan, St. Croix, Taylor, Trempealeau, Vernon, Vilas, Walworth, Washburn, Washington, Waukesha, Waupaca, Waushara (partial), Winnebago, and Wood.

Moved by Commissioner Knudson, seconded by Commissioner Spindell.

Roll call vote: H	Bostelmann:	Aye	Glancey:	Aye
J	Jacobs:	Aye	Knudson:	Aye
S	Spindell:	Aye	Thomsen:	Aye

Motion carried unanimously.

MOTION: Direct staff to work with the five counties identified for further discussion to obtain more information about how their proposal will improve their county's election cybersecurity posture and/or to modify their application to meet the terms of the grant. Modifications to the proposals will be considered by the Commission at a future meeting.

Counties: Iron, La Crosse (partial - voting equipment), Langlade, Milwaukee, and Waushara (partial - video surveillance equipment)

Moved by Commissioner Spindell, seconded by Commissioner Knudson.

Roll call vote:	Bostelmann:	Aye	Glancey:	Aye
	Jacobs:	Aye	Knudson:	Aye
	Spindell:	Aye	Thomsen:	Aye

D. Approval of Revised Uniform Instructions for Absentee Voting

Administrator Wolfe introduced Elections Specialist Cody Davies, who made a presentation based on a written report starting on page 67 of the meeting materials regarding revisions to the Uniform Instructions for Absentee Voting.

Discussion.

MOTION: Approve drafts of the revised Uniform Instructions for Absentee Voting as to form, pursuant to any revisions as determined by the Commission, and direct staff to finalize the uniform instructions and communicate the changes to local election officials.

Moved by Bostelmann, seconded by Glancey.

Roll call vote: Bo	stelmann:	Aye	Glancey:	Aye
Jac	cobs:	Aye	Knudson:	Aye
Sp	indell:	Aye	Thomsen:	Aye

July 30, 2020 Wisconsin Elections Commission Meeting Minutes Page 3

Motion carried unanimously.

MOTION: Approve draft revisions to the Uniform Instructions for Military and Overseas Voters that are emailed or faxed as to form, pursuant to any revisions as determined by the Commission, and direct staff to finalize the uniform instructions and communicate the changes to local election officials.

Moved by Spindell, seconded by Bostelmann.

Roll call vote: Bostelmann:	Aye	Glancey:	Aye
Jacobs:	Aye	Knudson:	Aye
Spindell:	Aye	Thomsen:	Aye

Motion carried unanimously.

E. Update on Absentee by Mail Improvements

Administrator Wolfe introduced IT Project Manager Sara Linski, who made a presentation based on a written report starting on page 74 of the meeting materials regarding improvements to the statewide voter registration system and other processes related to absentee voting.

Discussion. The Commission took no formal action.

F. Closed Session

1. Election Complaints

2. Litigation Update

MOTION: Move to closed session pursuant to Wis. Stat. §§ 19.851 and 19.85(1)(g) to discuss violations of election law and confer with counsel concerning litigation. Moved by Commissioner Thomsen, seconded by Commissioner Jacobs.

Roll call vote: Bostelmann:	Aye	Glancey:	Aye
Jacobs:	Aye	Knudson:	Aye
Spindell:	Aye	Thomsen:	Aye

Motion carried 6-0.

Commissioners convened in closed session at 5:30 p.m.

July 30, 2020 Wisconsin Elections Commission Meeting Minutes Page 4

G. Adjourn

MOTION: Adjourn. Moved by Commissioner Jacobs, seconded by Commissioner Bostelmann. Motion carried unanimously.

The Commission adjourned in closed session at 6:10 p.m.

####

The next regular meeting of the Wisconsin Elections Commission is scheduled for Tuesday, September 1, 2020, at the Wisconsin Elections Commission offices in Madison, Wisconsin beginning at 9:00 a.m.

July 30, 2020 Wisconsin Elections Commission meeting minutes prepared by:

Reid Magney, Public Information Officer

August 7, 2020

July 30, 2020 Wisconsin Elections Commission meeting minutes certified by:

Marge Bottelmann Marge Bostelmann, Commission Secretary

September 1, 2020