

Wisconsin Elections Commission

212 East Washington Avenue | Third Floor | P.O. Box 7984 | Madison, WI 53707-7984 (608) 266-8005 | elections@wi.gov | elections.wi.gov

MEMORANDUM

То:	Wisconsin County Clerks Milwaukee County Election Commission	
FROM:	Meagan Wolfe, Administrator	Richard Rydecki, Deputy Administrator
DATE:	December 28, 2020	

SUBJECT: 2021 and 2022 Party Ballot Status List and Ballot Order

Listed below are the political parties and the ballot order for parties which qualify for a separate ballot for the partisan primary and general election in 2022 and any special partisan primaries or elections which may occur in 2021 or 2022. Ballot order is determined by the highest number of votes received by a candidate at the highest office in the last general election. Every recognized political party listed on the official ballot at the November 3, 2020 General Election (Democratic, Republican, and Constitution) whose candidate for the office of President received at least one percent of the total votes cast for the office of President will have a separate primary ballot (Democratic and Republican Parties).

Of the parties whose candidates for president at the November 3, 2020 general election received at least one percent of the votes cast (Republican, Democratic, and Libertarian Parties), the party whose candidate for president received the most votes is listed first, followed, in descending order, by the parties whose candidate received the next highest number of votes.

The Constitution Party fielded a presidential candidate for the 2020 general election, but the candidate failed to garner at least one percent of the vote cast for the office of President. However, the Constitution Party retains its ballot status because their candidate received at least one percent of the total votes cast for a statewide office at the November 6, 2018 general election.

Other political parties have until April 1, 2022 to petition for ballot status for the 2022 partisan election. Wis. Stat. §5.62(1)(a), (b), (2), 5.64(1)(b).

Party Ballot List and Order for 2021-2022 Partisan Elections

DEM – Democratic REP - Republican LIB – Libertarian CON - Constitution IND - Independent

If you have any questions, please contact the WEC Help Desk at (608) 261-2028 or <u>elections@wi.gov</u>.

Wisconsin Elections Commissioners Ann S. Jacobs, chair | Marge Bostelmann | Julie M. Glancey | Dean Knudson | Robert Spindell | Mark L. Thomsen