Skip to main content

Update on the 2012-2013 Four-Year Voter Record Maintenance Initiative

Posted in
Information Only
December 4, 2012
Wisconsin County Clerks
Wisconsin Municipal Clerks
City of Milwaukee Election Commission
Milwaukee County Election Commission
Nathaniel E. Robinson, Elections Division Administrator
2012_2013 Four-Year Record Maintenace Update Memo 12-04-2012.pdf39.66 KB

Many of you have inquired about the status of the statutorily required Four-Year Voter Record Maintenance for the 2012 General and Presidential Election.  I am pleased to inform you that in response to clerks concerns about the increased election administration workload and costs, Director Kennedy decided that the G.A.B. will perform the 2012 Four-Year Voter Record Maintenance and send the Notice of Suspension of Registration mailing on behalf of municipal clerks.  The process will be substantially the same used in 2010 with some improvements based upon the experiences from 2008 and 2010.

The G.A.B. will send postcards to all affected voters, and those voters will have 30 days to respond.  G.A.B. will absorb printing and postage for the postcards.  Municipal clerks will receive the postcards returned by the post office and by voters wishing to remain on the registration list.  Municipal clerks who rely on their county or another municipality to provide SVRS services must collect the returned postcards and forward them to their SVRS Provider periodically.  Clerks who work with SVRS will be asked to record the mailings as returned and update voter records as appropriate.  SVRS Providers must return the original postcards to each Relier municipal clerk after recording the postcards as returned in SVRS.

Additional details on the 2012-2013 Four-Year Voter Record Maintenance will be made available at a later date.  We wish to thank you for your cooperation in this statewide initiative.  Clerks with questions may contact the G.A.B. Help Desk at (608) 261-2028, or at
cc: Kevin J. Kennedy
     Director and General Counsel

Ann Oberle
Elections Specialist

David Buerger
Elections Specialist

Ross D. Hein
Elections Supervisor

Government Accountability Board