Skip to main content

Governor Receives Nominees to Government Accountability Board

Posted in
February 23, 2012

MADISON, WI – The Government Accountability Candidate Committee has selected four former Wisconsin judges for nomination to fill two vacancies – one current and one future – on the Government Accountability Board.

The committee unanimously selected the Hon. Gary L. Carlson of Medford, Hon. Charles P. Dykman of Madison, the Hon. Gerald C. Nichol of Madison (a current G.A.B. member whose term ends in May), and the Hon. Timothy Vocke of Rhinelander (a former G.A.B. member).

The Governor may appoint two of the four judges to serve on the Government Accountability Board for six-year terms.  The appointments must be confirmed by a two-thirds vote of the State Senate.

The first vacancy was created after Judge Vocke, who was appointed last spring by Gov. Walker, resigned in December 2011 so he could run for judge in Vilas County Circuit Court.  Judge Vocke came in third in a three-way primary on Feb. 21, and asked the Candidate Committee on Wednesday to be considered for nomination again. Judge Vocke is a former Vilas County Circuit Court judge.

The second vacancy will occur in May 2012 when Judge Nichol’s term on the G.A.B. expires.  An original appointee to the Board in 2008, he was a Dane County Circuit Court judge from 1988 to 2004.

Judge Carlson served as a Taylor County Circuit Court judge from 1980 until his retirement in 2008.

Judge Dykman served on the District IV Wisconsin Court of Appeals from1978 to 2010.

The candidate committee is made up of four sitting Wisconsin Court of Appeals judges, Judge Kitty K. Brennan of District I in Milwaukee, Chief Judge Richard S. Brown of District II in Waukesha, Deputy Chief Judge Gregory A. Peterson of District III in Wausau, and Judge Brian W. Blanchard of District IV in Madison. The candidate committee met on February 22.

Committee members are selected at random by the Chief Justice of the Wisconsin Supreme Court, and serve a two-year term.  They are charged with nominating replacements to the G.A.B. from a list of willing applicants, all of whom must be former elected judges.

For more information, contact: 

Reid Magney, Public Information Officer, 608-267-7887

NR.GAB_.GA Candidate Committee's Selections.02.23.12.pdf19.76 KB