Skip to main content

Governor Receives Nominees to Government Accountability Board

April 12, 2011

MADISON, WI – The Government Accountability Candidate Committee has selected three former Wisconsin judges for nomination to serve on the Government Accountability Board.

The committee selected the Hon. Charles P. Dykman of Madison, the Hon. Denis Luebcke of Appleton, and the Hon. Timothy Vocke of Rhinelander.

The Governor will appoint one of the three judges to serve on the Government Accountability Board for a six-year term.  The appointment must be confirmed by a two-thirds vote of the State Senate.

Judge Dykman served on the District IV Wisconsin Court of Appeals from1978 to 2010, and was presiding judge twice during his term.  He previously served on the Government Accountability Candidate Committee.

Judge Luebke was a trial judge from 1984 to 2007 in Appleton, and served as an international judge for the United Nations Mission in Kosovo from 2007 to 2009.

Judge Vocke is a former Vilas County Circuit Court judge, and previously served as District Attorney for Vilas County.  He also has served on the Wisconsin Supreme Court’s Code of Professional Responsibility Committee.

Board Member Gordon Myse’s term will end next month, though he will serve until the Governor appoints a successor.  The six G.A.B. members serve six-year staggered terms, and Judge Myse’s term is the third to end since the G.A.B. was created in 2007.

The candidate committee is made up of four sitting Wisconsin Court of Appeals judges, Judge Kitty K. Brennan of District I in Milwaukee, Chief Judge Richard S. Brown of District II in Waukesha, Deputy Chief Judge Gregory A. Peterson of District III in Wausau, and Judge Brian W. Blanchard of District IV in Madison. The candidate committee met on April 5 and 7.

Committee members are selected at random by the Chief Justice of the Wisconsin Supreme Court, and serve a two-year term.  They are charged with nominating replacements to the G.A.B. from a list of willing applicants, all of whom must be former elected judges.


For more information, contact: 

Reid Magney, public information officer, 608-267-7887

NR.GAB_.GA Candidate Committee's Selections.04.12.11.pdf19.53 KB