Skip to main content

New G.A.B. Candidate Committee Selected

February 23, 2011

MADISON, WI – Four Wisconsin Court of Appeals judges were selected Wednesday to serve on the Government Accountability Candidate Committee.

They are Judge Kitty K. Brennan of District I in Milwaukee, Chief Judge Richard S. Brown of District II in Waukesha, Deputy Chief Judge Gregory A. Peterson of District III in Wausau, and Judge Brian W. Blanchard of District IV in Madison.

Wisconsin Supreme Court Chief Justice Shirley S. Abramson conducted the random drawing during the court’s open administrative conference meeting in the Supreme Court Hearing Room at the Capitol.  As required by state law, all seven justices were present for the drawing.

The candidate committee is responsible for reviewing applications by former state judges to serve as members of the Government Accountability Board (G.A.B.), and must unanimously agree on each nominee.  For each vacancy, the committee forwards at least two names to the Governor, for nomination to serve on the G.A.B.  The appointment must be confirmed with the advice and consent of the State Senate by a two-thirds vote.  Members of the G.A.B. serve staggered, six-year terms.

This spring, the candidate committee will review applications to fill the seat of Judge Gordon Myse of Appleton, whose term expires in May.  Judge Myse is not seeking another term.

The Government Accountability Board is made up of six members who are all former state judges and who must be non-partisan. The agency structure, and the process for selecting its board members, is unique.

The new candidate committee begins its two-year term on March 1, 2011. The outgoing candidate committee was comprised of Judge Ralph Adam Fine of District I, Judge Daniel P. Anderson of District II, Judge Edward R. Brunner of District III, and Judge Margaret Vergeront of District IV.

For more information, contact: 

Reid Magney, public information officer, 608-267-7887

NR GAB New GAB Candidate Committee Selected 02-23-2011.pdf18 KB